Fly Away

One of my favorite apps that came on my iPad mini is PhotoBooth. If you’ve never used it, or heard of it, it has 9 different cameras (X-Ray, Light Tunnel, Stretch, Mirror, Normal, Twirl, Thermal, Kaleidoscope and Squeeze) available to add cool, automatic looks to your photos. One of my favorites is Kaleidoscope, I could walk around all day just looking at the screen and seeing the neat patterns it creates. Today’s image was first created using the Kaleidoscope camera and taking a photo of a bicycle.

Original photo taken with the iPad mini using the Kaleidoscope camera in Photo Booth app

Original photo taken with the iPad mini using the Kaleidoscope camera in Photo Booth app

 

 

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with the photo so I used Snapseed first for processing. I started by adding Drama with the following settings:

  • Filter Strength: 90
  • Saturation: 0
Drama settings in Snapseed

Drama settings in Snapseed

 

I then used HDR Scape with the following settings:

  • Filter Strength: 50
  • Brightness: 10
  • Saturation: 5
HDR Scape settings in Snapseed

HDR Scape settings in Snapseed

 

My final step in Snapseed was using Tune Image with the following settings:

  • Brightness: 10
  • Ambiance: -75
  • Contrast: 5
  • Saturation: 0
  • Shadows: 0
  • Highlights: -70
  • Warmth: 5
Tune Image settings in Snapseed

Tune Image settings in Snapseed

 

 

I tried using Matter app first but it just looked too confusing (the photo, not the app). I ended up going into Fragment app and playing around which is why there aren’t more screenshots of how I created this part. I did manage to write down settings so I can share that with you.

Before I share the settings let me mention that when I opened the app there was a “2” in red, I ended up in their store and saw that there were some new design packs; some you had to pay for and there was a free one, Huda. I downloaded the new free pack and that was where I found this design…it was number 11.

To move/resize the object, tap on the blue circle. When you are done, tap on the outlined circle.

HUDA 11 design in Fragment app

HUDA 11 design in Fragment app

 

Notice the up arrow at the bottom of the screenshot? Tapping on that brings up all sorts of settings you can adjust, from left to right they are: Brightness, Contrast, Additive, Blur, Invert, Desaturate, 3D Glasses, Outline and Glow.

Below that is a numbered line from -100 to 100 and below that is a line of color chips. So, here are the settings I used:

  • Brightness: -25
  • Contrast: 20
  • Additive: -50
  • Blur: 30
  • Invert: 40
  • Desaturate: 5
  • 3D Glasses: 0
  • Outline: 30
  • Glow: 0

Color chip I used was Orange.

 

 

I then opened up the saved image in LoryStripes and tried a few stripes before deciding on the one I chose. I then rotated and moved it into position.

Adding stripes in LoryStripes app

Adding stripes in LoryStripes app

 

Next it was time to add color. After clicking on the check mark in the upper-right hand corner it opens up another screen with three icons on the bottom of the page. The first icon takes you back to the stripes page. The middle icon opens up the color selector page. The last icon lets you mask out the areas you don’t want the stripes to appear.

I tapped on the middle icon and selected a color very close to the outline color used in Fragment.

Adding color to the stripes

Adding color to the stripes

 

I then tapped on the check mark again and tapped on the last icon to create a mask. I didn’t want the stripes interfering with the design so I “erased” them. You tap on the last icon, it will look like either a pencil (to paint the effect back in) or an eraser (to erase the areas you don’t want showing), depending on which you want to do.

Masking out/erasing stripes from on top of design

Masking out/erasing stripes from on top of design

 

 

I went back to the color page and lowered the opacity of the stripes by moving the slider, at the top of the page, to the left.

Lowering the Opacity of the stripes

Lowering the Opacity of the stripes

 

 

I was now ready to add my logo/watermark, metadata and StegoMark in iWatermark +.

Adding my logo/watermark, metadata and Stegomark in iWatermark+

Adding my logo/watermark, metadata and Stegomark in iWatermark+

 

To get the image ready to post on Instagram I used Insta Full Size and selected the blur borders.

Adding blur borders in Insta Full Size

Adding blur borders in Insta Full Size

 

The final step was creating the Before and After photo in Leonardo.

Fly Away - Before and After

Fly Away – Before and After

 

 

List of apps used in this post and their links in the iTunes store…

 

Leave a Reply

