SL-WEEK 7 : Night

Recently Sylvain, of Sylvain Landry Photographe, asked me if I’d join his latest challenge, Night.  I let him know that I would once I found some of my night photos.

I don’t get to get out much at night anymore so I’ve included some from 2009 in Chiang Mai, Thailand, last year’s Ventura County Fair, one from housesitting in 2011 and one from camping/RVing in 2012.

Here are three from my (favorite) home away from home, Horizon Village and Resort located between Chiang Mai and Doi Saket, Thailand. They were taken with my (at the time camera) Sony HX-1 and were handheld, I was trying out the night setting where it took 6 photos and stitched them together to reduce noise.

Night-time at Horizon Village and Resort

Night-time at Horizon Village and Resort

 

Night-time at Horizon Village and Resort

Night-time at Horizon Village and Resort

 

Night-time at Horizon Village and Resort

Night-time at Horizon Village and Resort

 

The next two were taken handheld with my Olympus OM-D EM-5 mirrorless camera at last years Ventura County Fair. Love the in-camera 5-way stabilization!

One of the rides at last years Ventura County Fair

One of the rides at last years Ventura County Fair

 

Waiting their turn for the ride

Waiting their turn for the ride

 

While house sitting for some friends a few years ago I brought along my camera (a Nikon D5100), a tripod and a flashlight to try out some night photography. What I didn’t think about was that it is a beach community and the marine layer comes in (most nights) and prevents you from seeing the sky. As you can see I got a bit of a break.

Night-time in Carpinteria

Night-time in Carpinteria

 

My last photo was also taken with the Nikon D5100 and on a tripod. We were guests for two nights at Mountain Lakes Resort and I just had to try taking photos; this is one that I like. The streak is not a shooting star, it’s an airplane flying past.

The quiet lake at night at Mountain Lakes Resort

The quiet lake at night at Mountain Lakes RV

3 thoughts on “SL-WEEK 7 : Night

Leave a Reply

