Do You Believe in Magic

See yesterday’s post The Fountain to see another version of this area and the original photo I started with.

After watching H2’s video on “iColorama – Watercolour&Sketch” I wanted to see if I could create something similar. It was several hours later that I had some time to play on my iPad mini so I had to rely on my memory of what I watched. I decided to use yesterday’s water fountain but to create something a little different. I wanted to see what would happen if I mirrored the fountain in Mirrored (app)…it created some cool magic!! I loved the two floating pieces above the bottom.

Creating the illusion in Mirrored App

Creating the illusion in Mirrored App

 

 

Next I went in to TouchRetouch HD to remove the drain on both sides and also remove the paintings from the back wall. It did a pretty good job.

Removed paintings and drains

Removed paintings and drains

 

 

Next up was creating three different images in iColorama that would eventually be masked together. First I went to Style>Edges>2/17 and set the blend mode to Screen. I saved the image.

Adding Edges 2/17 - saved for a later step

Adding Edges 2/17 – saved for a later step

 

After the photo was saved I clicked on the Steps icon to bring back the original photo. Now it was time for the watercolor version. I went into Style>Water-B>11/16. I adjusted the Colors (0.95), Texture (0.85) and Vibrance (1.00) sliders. I now saved that image.

Creating watercolor effect and saving for later

Creating watercolor effect and saving for later

 

Before starting on the photo, I created my own “paper” to use in iColorama. I had watched juryjone’s video titled “iColorama – Creating Distressed Paper Background”. I did my best trying to remember the steps I saw him do…I wasn’t looking to duplicate his “paper”, I wanted something different. This is what I came up with.

"Paper" I designed and saved for using in final image - created in iColorama

“Paper” I designed and saved for using in final image – created in iColorama

 

It was now time for more “magic”. I opened the watercolor version of the photo first, next I clicked on the photo icon in the lower right hand side and opened my “paper”. I had to rotate and fill it to cover the entire photo. I then tapped the Brush Mask icon, tapped on Brush, selected the Watercolor group, then tapped on Single and chose brush 8/41. I then tapped on Set>Adjust and lowered the Opacity to 0.50 and changed Opacity variation to 0.25. I was now ready to create my mask, revealing the watercolor image from below. When it was the way I liked it, I saved the result, then hit Apply.

Using Blend mode, only to create the watercolor mask

Using Blend mode, only to create the watercolor mask

 

With the result safely saved it was now time to open up the Edges version. I tapped on Effects>Blend>Photo (in the lower right hand side) and selected the image. I went back to the Brush Mask and the Mask settings to again change the Opacity and Opacity Variation. I then masked the areas I wanted lighter.

Using the mask and lowering the opacity to lighten up some areas

Using the mask and lowering the opacity to lighten up some areas

 

 

I was going to add lighting effects in iColorama but it kept crashing, probably because the one’s I wanted to try are still in Beta test…but more than likely because I still had other apps open. I decided to use MasterFX for the lighting. For the top floating fountain I used Bokeh13 and lowered the Opacity to about 80%. The middle fountain got Light8 with Opacity around 80%. The large fountain on the ground got Orbshine with an Opacity around 80%. Before saving I tried all of the filters on the image but didn’t like any of them so I went back to “Original” and saved both the image and the session.

Adding lighting effects in MasterFX

Adding lighting effects in MasterFX

 

 

The final step was going back into iColorama and adding texture to the whole image. I tapped on Preset>Texture>Preset and then selected 4/564. I lowered the size to about 0.85, left Contrast at 0.00 and used Multiply mode.

Back in iColorama adding texture

Back in iColorama adding texture

 

 

I was now ready to add my logo/watermark in iWatermark.

Adding my logo/watermark in iWatermark

Adding my logo/watermark in iWatermark

 

To get the image ready to post on Instagram I used Insta Full Size and selected the Blur borders.

Adding blur borders in Insta Full Size

Adding blur borders in Insta Full Size

 

The final step was creating the Before and After photo in Leonardo.

Do You Believe in Magic - Before and After

Do You Believe in Magic – Before and After

 

 

List of apps used in this post and their links in┬áthe iTunes store…

Leave a Reply

