The Fountain

Yesterday I needed to give one of the cars a good run as it hadn’t been driven in a very long time. I ended up at Gardens of the World in Thousand Oaks with only my phone and iPad mini. So today’s post is 100% mobile. In the Mission area is a waterfall that I always enjoy taking photos of, today I tried framing it a little differently. I like the way it looks…for the most part.

Original photo taken with the iPad mini

Original photo taken with the iPad mini using Manual Camera app

 

 

There were a couple of things that needed taken care of first, for some reason it ended up sideways so I used Snapseed to rotate the image clockwise, then I cropped it just above the drain showing up underneath.

After rotating and cropping

After rotating and cropping

 

While still in Snapseed I ran the photo through Tune Image and made the following changes:

  • Brightness: 0
  • Ambiance: 80
  • Contrast: 5
  • Saturation:10
  • Shadows: 70
  • Warmth: -15
After using Tune Image

After using Tune Image

 

Next I ran it through HDR scape and used the following settings:

  • Filter Strength: 60
  • Brightness: -10
  • Saturation: 10
  • Smoothing: 100
After adding HDR scape

After adding HDR scape

 

From there I used Grunge with the following settings:

  • Style: 45
  • Brightness: 10
  • Contrast: 50
  • Texture Strength: 25
  • Saturation: 60
  • I used Texture number 3 and kept hitting the shuffle icon until I found a texture I liked with the photo
After adding Grunge

After adding Grunge

 

The last thing I did was added Drama with the following settings:

  • Filter Strength: 90
  • Saturation: 5
After adding Drama

After adding Drama

 

 

I was now ready to add my logo/watermark in iWatermark.

Adding my logo/watermark in iWatermark

Adding my logo/watermark in iWatermark

 

On Instagram I’ve seen some full size photos with square, blurred backgrounds and have been trying to find out how they did that. While in Manual Photo Camera I clicked on the three vertical dots on the right-hand side of the screen; scrolling down the screen showed other apps they have, one of which is Insta Full Size! It does what I was looking to do…and then some. It is free with In-App Purchases. Upgrading to pro is $0.99. Here is today’s photo that I posted on Instagram (link is to my photos/artwork).

Adding blur borders in Insta Full Size

Adding blur borders in Insta Full Size

 

The final step was creating the Before and After photo in Leonardo.

The Fountain - Before and After

The Fountain – Before and After

 

 

List of apps used in this post and their links in the iTunes store…

One thought on “The Fountain

  1. Pingback: Do You Believe in Magic | DS Photography & Digital Art

Leave a Reply

